Really

18 Sep

I’ve had about 20 friend requests sitting in my little FB friend request box for months now. I finally decided to accept three of them and almost instantaneously regretted it. Is it just coincidence that these three now constitute 95% of my news feed?

Your child drank two whole cups of ice water after playing outside in 90 degree weather? Really? Stop the presses!

A link to a “nice article” about Days of Our Lives? And you want to know if I have “any thoughts”? Really?

Watching the CMA’s last night with your kids was a memory that will last forever? FOR-EVER? Really?? Either way, I don’t care! Stop posting, people!

What is the proper etiquette for unfriending someone? Is there a minimum time you must try them out before you pull the plug? Or can I just call it now?

Bah.

10 Responses to “Really”

  1. tawnya September 18, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Call it now. Quick like a bandaid! But not until I see if I can snoop a little…

  2. Cheryl September 18, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Just unsubscribe from them so you can’t see their newsfeeds. Then you’ll forget they are even your friends and they will never know you are nauseated by their ridiculous posts! It’s a total win-win.

  3. Flip flop mama September 18, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Cut them now! They probably wont even know the difference.

  4. thewoobdog September 19, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    HAHAHA!!! My whole FEED is consumed by these people now – people I don’t know and have nothing in common with whom I friended for games that I don’t play anymore… I keep meaning to go clean up my friend list and just keep putting it off and avoiding Facebook in the meantime. A procrastinating coward, that’s what I am. LOL. (To add insult to injury – there are a handful of them WHO KEEP SENDING ME REQUESTS FOR EVERY NEW AND RIDICULOUS AND POINTLESS GAME THAT THEY FIND. I keep blocking the games and they keep finding new ones to hound me with.)

  5. thewoobdog September 19, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    I mean, you obviously have a better selection process than I do, since you actually considered all pending requests before accepting, so I’m not implying that you are, you know, indiscriminate like me and reaping the just rewards of folly (me, me, all me). It’s just somewhat encouraging (although at the same time disheartening) that it can happen to anyone… (If I see ONE MORE baby animal pic, sunrise, or poorly-rendered pasty gaunt Caucasian Jesus picture with a scripture, cutesy saying, or sicky-sweet religious cliche slapped over, above, or around it, I might just go all crazy on somebody…)

  6. evitafjord September 19, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    I have a LOT of people set to Only Important updates – that keeps the political and annoying stuff out for the most part. Most of my ward, my BIL, and my husband’s ex-professor who is a lovely, lovely lady who WILL NOT STOP posting argumentative political stuff – all people I don’t need to hear from on a daily (hourly) basis but do want to know if they have something important going on.

  7. Amanda D September 19, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    The first time I joined Facebook I posted all. the. time. I probably annoyed the heck out of everyone I was friends with. Then I quit. Then I rejoined and now post a LOT less often. Thank goodness, right?

    I agree with Cheryl — just hide their newsfeed.

    The posts that I think are annoying are the “I’m so broke and can’t fix the car, but I’m at dinner and a movie with the husband while the kids are home with pizza and a babysitter.” Good luck!

  8. madhousewife September 21, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    Well, it’s been seconded and now thirded that you hide their posts from your feed. How did you get so popular, anyway? (That’s a little joke.)

    I think most of the posts in my newsfeed are from actual news outlets now. Sometimes that is annoying.

  9. Patience September 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Chiming in about the hiding. Some updates are just so self important and ridiculous they become entertaining. One of my friends and I make fun of a mutual acquaintance’s facebook updates. She loves to brag about the healthful things she cooks for dinner, or about how great it is that her kids listen to classical music while they eat breakfast. OK, I am a terrible person.

  10. Mother of the Wild Boys September 24, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m still reeling at your rejection rate…I mean, only 3 out of 20 made the cut?! That’s only 15%!! If that’s how picky you are about friends, I’m starting to feel like a freakin’ rockstar for being your friend!! Love you even more now. 😀

Leave a Reply

