Non-student day

27 Jan

Stupidest days ever.  Except that I get to sleep in and not pack lunches.  Still have to make lunches, though, so that’s kind of a rip off.  Don’t have to fight with Goose about her refusing to wear socks in 20 degree weather, so that’s a bonus.  Do have to listen to kids get on each other’s nerves for an extra six hours, which is totally suckish.

In other news, I cleaned my kitchen.  Dishes, counters, stovetop (not oven, it’s not like it’s a holiday or anything for crying out loud), floors.  I even put the rugs in the wash to soak in the OxyClean.  I didn’t clean out the refrigerator, but I don’t want to strain anything on my first day back in the cleaning saddle.  My house has been a pit lately, for some inexplicable reason.  Actually, I’m sure there are a plethora of explicable reasons, the most likely of which being that I am a big fat lazya$$, but whatever.  The kitchen is clean!

The kids are all screaming.  I suppose it’s time to make lunch.  Sigh.

Happy Tuesday, everyone.

7 Responses to “Non-student day”

  1. E January 27, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    My husband who graduate from HS in 1980, swears there was no such thing as non-student/teacher work/staff development/in-service days when he was in school. But I, who graduated some tenish years later, definitely did have have them. Could he be right? Or does he just not remember?

  2. madhousewife January 27, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Well, my kids are in school today, and I’ve gotten exactly zero done. Zero. I’m doing zero right now. Argh!

  3. kamillivanilli January 27, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    Yeah, can’t we just pack all the non-student days at the end of the school year, so the kids can get out of school earlier and not have to be in until mid-late June? Really now…..

    Today sucketh over here at my house too if it makes you feel any better. I’m seeing glimpses of what spring break is going to look like and it’s making me nervous…

  4. Alison Wonderland January 27, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    I feel your pain in a totally I’ve been there kind of way, not so much a I’m there now kind of way. Because well, my kids went to school today. But sometimes they’re off track and I’m with you, it sucketh.

  5. bythelbs January 27, 2009 at 8:56 pm #

    E—I graduated in ’91 and I have absolute no recollection of these kinds of days. Maybe it just depends on your school district? Hmmm…

    mad—I cleaned the kitchen and picked up the living room and swept and that’s it. That is it.

    kamilli—I’m with you. And, of course, misery loves company, right?

    Alison—It doth sucketh. I did manage to get the girls to clean their room (after they got in trouble for fighting), so there was one highlight to the day.

  6. thewoobdog January 28, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    Well, not actually HAVING any kids just yet, I can’t TRULY say I feel your pain… On the other hand, having siblings 12 and 14 years younger than me (which would probably be one reason WHY I don’t have kids yet – I still remember the horror of small screaming children!), I really can kind of relate.

    This is what our school district does that’s just pretty much the most irritating thing ever (based on what my co-workers who are moms say): When the kids have had too many snow days (like now – 9 so far), they make them go to school on Saturdays to make it up. Here’s the worst thing – they only go from like 8 am – noon, so it pretty much crapifies EVERYONE’s day – the kids, because they have to get up early and go to school half a day; the parents, because they have to get up early, listen to the kids cry about the unfairness (while secretly thinking THE SAME THING in their own hearts), drive the kids to school, come home JUST long enough to relax, then go pick the kids up… Does your school district do this or is our Board of Education the only one dumb enough to think this is a good idea?

  7. Susan M January 28, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    I graduated in 88 and we had teacher workshop days. In the Seattle area.

    Here in Cali they have “planning days,” where school starts an hour late. Almost every Monday. It used to be Wednesdays. Although this Monday was a teacher workshop day.

    When I was a kid, my elementary school had early dismissal on Wednesdays. LOVED IT.

Leave a comment