Archive | 9:18 am

Uh…what was that?

7 May

Watching American Idol contestants forget their lyrics this season, I’ve thought if they could just think a little faster on their feet they could totally make something up and throw it in there and most people probably wouldn’t even notice (actual words, though, not just some da-di-da’s or hmm-mmm’s).  I mean how many times have you discovered you’ve spent the last several years singing the wrong words to songs?

Here are just a few from personal/family experience that I can think of off the top of my head:

My mom used to sing this They Might Be Giants song:

Don’t, don’t, don’t let’s start. I’ve got an aardvark.

And the right line:

Don’t, don’t, don’t let’s start. This is the worst part.

With TMBG “aardvark” would almost make more sense.


Here’s one from my girls doing Ashlee Simpson:

Pieces, pieces, pieces of meat.

And of course the right, more PETA friendly line:

Pieces, pieces, pieces of me.

Too bad, the “meat” makes the song much more interesting.


My husband singing along to Angels and Airwaves:

I cannot live, I can’t breathe unless Judith’s with me.

But really:

I cannot live, I can’t breathe unless you do this with me.

Judith, you’re so vain I betcha think this song is about you. Sorry.


Again, my girls (and me, to be honest) with Avril Lavigne:

It’s a damp cold night.

But she’s really saying (gasp!):

It’s a damn cold night.

I haven’t bothered to tell my girls the real line.


For years I had no idea what Seal was saying here:

Baby, to me you’re like a bowl of dictionaries that I can’t die.

I had to look it up online:

Baby, to me you’re like a growing addiction that I can’t deny.

OK, I guess that makes more sense.


And 500 cool points to whoever can give me the right line and band for this one (also courtesy of my mom):

That’s what my heart yearns for now—when doves cry.

Hint:  it’s not Prince.

 

So what lyrics have you been singing wrong all these years?